The Beard’s the Thing

Beard, it’s one of those words that starts to sound weird when you say it a lot. The more you say it the odder it sounds. But even so beards and hats with beards attached have been a fun new popular thing lately. I guess that’s the natural progression from the mustache craze of the past couple years. Not real mustaches on men, just to clarify, fun quirky mustaches on accessories, duct tape, and clothing among other things. My daughter loves these decorative mustaches and a short while back had mentioned me crocheting a beard for her. I did not…until my son had to dress up as George Lucas for a school project.

image

Clearly we needed at least one crochet beard around the house. 

image

Finding a crochet pattern on the internet for a beard was easy due to their aforementioned popularity. And it turns out they’re super simple to make. Plus I got to use a bobble stitch which I have not done before. I made a grey beard using Vanna’s Choice acrylic yarn and the pattern posted by Madmimhttp://madmim.com/crochet-beard-free-pattern/ I used the child’s pattern that she had towards the bottom of the page.

image

           

image

It took maybe one movie’s length to make the beard and a few minutes to add the mustache after trying it on my boy. And then, of course, I had to make one for my daughter as well…just for fun (though in her opinion a beard calls for a serious facial expression). Hers is made of a baby/fine yarn by Lion Brand called “twinkle stripes” that I doubled up.

image

Now every time the beards are out my youngest says he wants a beard too. I think a green beard is next on my extensive and ever changing crochet to do list.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

One thought on “The Beard’s the Thing

  1. […] finished the beard using this pattern (I’ve made beards before and knew they’re pretty quick and easy) the morning of the 28th when a couple of my sisters […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

