Owls, Penguins, & Bears…err, Angry Birds

Lately I’ve been like a silent partner in this blogging endeavor. Not silent as in an unseen financial backer, silent as in…well just silent. Life gets busy and while blogging is often on my mind it doesn’t often make it into my schedule lately. Also, I haven’t finished any projects recently though I have a few in the works. I do, however, have a thing or two from before this blog was started to write about. And now I have some time to kill while I wait for this crabby three year old pass out for the night. Who let this kid nap today anyhow?
If you’ve read my Best Batman Hat Ever post you may remember that it was inspired by an owl hat I was making for my daughter’s birthday. And if you haven’t read it, well, you should. Here is the aforementioned owl hat:

image

image

My daughter loves owls so for her 9th birthday I thought I’d make her a cute and colorful owl hat. But when I searched online I couldn’t find a kid sized owl hat I really liked (this was over a year ago before owls were super popular and everywhere). So I did what I usually do when I can’t find exactly what I’m looking for. I took what I did like from other patterns and made my own.
I’ll have to do some digging and see if I can find the patterns I drew ideas from. Basically I made my own hat, a classic beanie style with a contrasting color in the center and ear flaps, and used the patterns for ideas on how to make the features.

image

Owl eyes are easy because they’re just big circles. I used buttons as the centers. For the beak I double chained a triangle. The eyes, beak, and ears were all made after the  hat was finished and then attached. Since yarn needles drive me crazy I used a small crochet hook to attach the pieces.
Using this idea of an animal hat with ear flaps and a contrasting color on the center front I’ve also made a penguin…

image

And an Angry Bird…

image

Unfortunately when I’m making something like this without following a pattern I don’t usually keep track of what I’m doing as I go. Maybe I can go look at these hats and count my stitches to make up a pattern.
Actually I’ve never written a crochet pattern before. Tha could be a fun new project. Got any advice on writing crochet patterns? I’d love to hear it.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

One thought on “Owls, Penguins, & Bears…err, Angry Birds

  1. […] the turtle hat came out I set to work on an owl version. She loves owls. Two years ago I made her this hat for her […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

