Where do you buy your yarn?

So I’m just about finished with most of my current projects (long-term blanket, baby blanket and a scarf) and I was making vague plans for the next project. I picked up a VOGUEknitting Crochet magazine and I’m thinking of trying some of the clothing patterns inside. I’ve never made clothing beyond hats and scarves so it will be a whole new experience. Exciting!

Most of the patterns call for a lighter yarn weight, usually 0-2 (which would be lace, super fine and/or fine). Usually I purchase my yarn from the selection at Michael’s, Joann’s or Meijer (for those of you not in the Great Lakes Area – it’s like Walmart). Last time I looked for light weight yarn the selection was pretty sparse. For clothing I would really like to find some semi-nice yarn preferably in cotton.

Any suggestions on where to look for a better selection of yarn? Any online sources have good prices/good yarn?

Thanks in advance for the advice!! I’ll post pictures of my finished products soon, very soon, hopefully!

2 thoughts on “Where do you buy your yarn?

  1. kathylashley says:

    I use Sinfonia yarn. It’s 100% mercerized cotton and I love it for making my summer beach hats and some small bags. I am also planning on using it for some clothing projects in the future. I purchase it on-line from creativeyarnsource.com. There are over 88 different colors in which to choose. It is a little more expensive than your average yarn, but I totally love the way my projects turn out every single time. My blog is http://www.elkstudiohandcraftedcrochetdesigns.com if your interested in seeing some projects made with the yarn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

