McAll’s M6501: Another Fancy Little Girl Dress

I’m not sure if this can really be called a little girls’ dress since technically my daughter is a tween now…whatever the hell that means. When I was a tween tweens didn’t even exist, we were just called kids until we were teenagers and then we were still called kids. And, for the record, I’m not even that old.
Anyhow, I try to make my daughter at least one fancy dress a year. This year it was for my sister’s wedding at the end of June. I faced the challenge of finding a look that was not only dressy enough but also age appropriate, neither too little girly nor too mature for a ten year old.
McCall’s M6501 fit the bill.

image

It’s a simple A-line dress with the option of an asymetrical hem and a ruffle running down the front. For a little contrast I used a solid colored sheer fabric with shiny little squares as the ruffle.

image

This less detailed style was perfect for the bright floral print fabric I had got on clearance a few months earlier.
Yes, you read that correctly. I bought the fabric before I even had the pattern picked out. That is definitely the sewing equivalent of putting the cart before the horse. Sometimes you’ve got to shake things up and sometimes the fabric inspires you (and so does the price…this stuff was less than $2 a yard).

image

I love this fabric not only for the bright colors but also for the silky feel of it. Plus it has a little bit of a shine to it which gives it a dressy look even with a very basic style as well as just a little bit of stretch which helps it fit and move better. And did I mention it was super cheap???
I was able to complete this dress in an afternoon and am planning to use the same pattern to start teaching my daughter & a friend to sew next month. I’ll let you know how that goes.

image

And of course my beautiful girl looked great for the wedding and loved her new dress.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

5 thoughts on “McAll’s M6501: Another Fancy Little Girl Dress

  1. Oh my goodness! So beautiful!!’

    Like

  2. daniellajoe says:

    The first portion of the post made me lol again!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. […] you remember this dress from my my Fancy Little Girl Dress post back in […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

