Holy Shit it’s Almost Halloween

Earlier this week my son said to me “Only seventeen more days until my birthday.”
I responded with a “What? No way!” and proceeded to look at a calendar & think “oh shit!” but said “huh, look at that.”
Why oh shit? Because my son’s birthday is a mere week after Halloween.
Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Halloween. Making costumes is one of (well, another one of) my favorite things. In the past I’ve made all sorts of fun costumes, things like Jack & Sally from Nightmare Before Christmas, various Harry Potter characters, and a whole Star Wars theme ranging from Ewoks to Jawas.

image

For example, here is my daughter as Bellatrix two years ago.

image

And one of my sons as Obi Wan last year.

image

This may be the only picture in the past five years that my second child willingly posed for.

The problem was that it was just over a week to this year’s  Halloween and, while a few costume ideas had been tossed around (I’m pretty sure we’d been talking about costume ideas since July), nothing had even been decided on let alone started.
Well, almost nothing. The four year old had declared that he was going to be Superman weeks before and I already suspected I was just going to buy that one. The crafter and me felt a little cheap & dirty but really there’s no point in making a Superman costume for a four year old. It wouldn’t be cheaper or better than a store bo
ught costume and would most likely only fit him for a year.

So, here we all were ten days before Halloween, it was time to get my kids to make some tough choices and actually pick what they want to be.

This is what they decided on (and what I’m working furiously on now that Halloween is less than a week away): 

image

The David Tennat Doctor (as we call him),

image

A clockwork droid (from season two of Doctor Who) , 

image

  A peacock   ,

….and Anakin Skywalker just before he transitioned to Darth Vader (but only because he wanted a new lightsaber)….
No No wait, not Anakin, a Roman soldier.
Yeah, a Roman soldier.
Or maybe a Roman soldier for trick or treating and Percy Jackson for the school party….

Finally I just bought him a Roman soldier costume.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

One thought on “Holy Shit it’s Almost Halloween

  1. […] publish this post today) and I have yet to tell you about the Halloween costumes I made and preview blogged about a week ago. I feel like I’m running behind. I always feel like I’m running […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

