Oops I Did It Again…

Let me just start by saying that one of these days I’m going to head to the fabric store with pattern in hand and buy the recommended fabric in the suggested amount complete with coordinating lining and notions like a normal person. At least that’s how I imagine normal people do it.
Me, I see a fabric on sale, like it, buy whatever random length I think might make something, and take it home where it sits in a drawer until a pattern or idea strikes my fancy. Sometimes this method works, often enough for me to repeat it over and over. Other times I find myself running into fabric shortage or some other problem that requires a creative and totally avoidable solution.
Last February I bought a couple (maybe a couple and a half or maybe even a few) yards of metallic grey taffeta type material with a girl’s future Christmas dress in mind. About 9 months later I started thinking about what this dress might look like.
My daughter wanted something like this:
image

At first I agreed. Then I realized the holidays are closer than I thought they were. And a super fancy dress in this super fancy looking silver material might be a bit over the top.
We ended up settling on something like this: 
image

image

The problem I ran into was this: 
image

Can you see? It’s see through. Ugh!
Did I notice this back in February when I bought the material? Did I just not care then? It was a super good price so that’s entirely possible.

I ended up doing an impromptu lining for the main part of the dress. It covered up all my lovely french seams but oh well. Sometimes you’ve just got to do what you’ve got to do.  
image

I think next time might be the time I pick out the garment first THEN pick the material. No more of this cart before horse deal……maybe.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

2 thoughts on “Oops I Did It Again…

  1. LOL that’s the exact same problem I have with yarn…which is why I have a huge stash of not quite enough of any particular yarn for any particular project 🙂

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Oh yeah, I do the same thing with yarn. I’m actually worse though since yarn is a smaller, easier purchase. One winter I had the never ending purple yarn. I’d start a project, run out midway through, buy more of the same yarn, have leftovers and repeat the process. That was before I discovered granny squares though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

