Turtle of Traditionalism Granny Square

image

As a parent I’m glad my kids have friends. But, gosh, do all their friends have to have birthdays? Jeez, so many presents to buy; some for kids we really don’t know all that well.
For example, my daughter was invited to a birthday party for a girl who was in her inner circle of school friends last year. The Fab Five they called themselves. But this year this particular girl is at a different school. My daughter hasn’t seen her since last June but, of course, is excited to go to her birthday party. And, of course, I’m not saying no to this. But, ee gahds, the thought of wasting spending hard earned money on some generic gift that’ll be cast aside with a pile of other generic gifts in like two minutes does not appeal to me.
Enter the turtle.

image

Since I have a lovely little pile of coordinating yarn in soft, fun colors already on hand due to Christmas gift over estimation (or maybe holiday yarn retail therapy but that’s another discussion for another day), I thought I’d just make something for the birthday girl.
I asked my daughter “What does Emma like?”
“Um, I dunno. Soccer, turtles, & RianbowDash” was her answer…
Uh, okay, let’s go with turtles then. I can do something with that…something granny-squarish.
So I Googled. And, sure, I found some turtle granny squares but nothing that was quite what I had in mind.
I was looking for a square with a simple turtle center and the traditional granny square outside.
Why traditional style?
Because it’s fast & easy, baby, Fast and Easy!

This site was the closest to what I wanted. The little turtles in the center were perfect but the outside rows weren’t. Plus the pattern was a little confusing for me.
So I did what I usually do in this situation…
I modified.
And here is what I came up with (after a more rectangular attempt).

Center Turtle:
-make magic ring, ch 3 (counts as first dc), dc 11 times, join with sl st in 3rd st of the ch3  (12 dc)
-ch3, dc in same st, 2 dc in each stitch around, switch to light green to join in top st of the ch 3 (24 dc)
-with light green ch 3, 2 dc in same st, ch 2 skip 2 st, 5 dc in next st, ch 2, skip next 2 st, 3 dc in next st, ch 5 skip 5, 3 dc in next st, ch 2 skip 2, dc in next st, ch 2 skip 2, 3 dc in next st, ch 5, join in top st of ch 3 (17 dc, 18 sc)

The center turtle is complete. Now to get your granny on!
-sl st in next st to change color (I used a light blue but anything with contrast works)
-ch 3, 2 dc in same st, ch 2, 3 dc in next st (granny corner #1 is done), 2 hdc in ch 2 space, sc in back loop only of next 2 st, sl st in back loop only of next st, sc back loop only of next 2 st, 2 hdc in ch 2 space, 3 dc in next st, ch 2, 3 dc in next st (top side & granny corner # 2 done)
– ch 1,  2 hdc, 1 sc, 2 hdc in the ch 5 space, ch 1, 3 dc in next dc, ch 2, 3 dc in the next st (3rd corner done)
-2 hdc & 2 sc in ch 2 space, sl st in dc (tail), 2 sc & 2 hdc in ch 2 space. Make a granny corner in next 2 st (3 dc, ch 2, 3 dc)
-ch1, 2 hdc, 1 sc, 2 hdc in the ch 5 space, ch1, sl st into top of ch 3 to finish the round.
Granny round 2:
– sl st over to ch 2 corner space. Make a corner in the corner space (3dc, ch2, 3 dc), skip the 3 corner dc and dc in each of the 2 hdc , ch 2, skip 4, dc in next 2 st.
– 3dc, ch 2, 3 dc in corner space, 3 hdc in next space, ch 2, 3hdc in next space, make a corner in the corner space, skip 3 corner st & dc in each of next 2 st, skip 4, dc in each of next 2 st, skip 3 and make a corner in the corner (3 dc, ch 2, 3 dc), 3 hdc in next space, ch 2, 3 hdc in next space, sl st in top of beginning ch 3.
Fasten off.
image

I also edged these in a dark purple by sc in each stitch or space around.
Congratulations, you’ve (hopefully) just made it through my first attempt at writing a pattern.

If you did try this please comment below and let me know how (if?) I can improve anything.

Oh and, in case you’re wondering, I’m going to make a couple more and put them together in some kind of hat or headband for the birthday gift. I’ll try to blog about that when it’s complete…which had better be before Friday afternoon.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

Leave a Reply

