Through Time and Space

Today’s post is coming to you from another time and relative dimension in space…. Christmas to be exact.

image

If you haven’t noticed I love love love Doctor Who. Especially the tenth Doctor….but maybe I’ll save that for another post. I wouldn’t quite call this past Christmas Doctor Who themed but my kids and I are pretty enthusiastic about Doctor Who and that was reflected in our gift giving. There were Weeping Angel t-shirts, Tardis snow globes, character pins, models, and mini figures. It was great!
One of my favorite Doctor Who themed gifts was the TARDIS scarf I made for my now thirteen year old son.
I wanted to make something Doctor Who related that a boy that age would wear and my son does not wear hats. It would hide all his pretty red hair…don’t tell him I said that. I’m fairly certain teenage boys don’t like to be called pretty especially by their moms.

So anyhow, a scarf was the logical choice.
I started by Googling Doctor Who scarves and found this TARDIS night sky scarf by Gamer Girl Universe.

image

It’s pretty good but the idea of stitching the lines to create all the little boxes on the TARDIS did not appeal to me. Plus I like to make my own adaptations to pretty much everything. Following directions all the time is just boring.
Instead of stitching black lines on top of the scarf I decided to use front & back post stitches to create texture for the boxes on the TARDIS.

image

I made a great pattern chart to make sure I was getting the size and number of boxes right but of course I can’t find it now. Christmas was like four months ago and I’m not always the most organized person. Sorry about that.
So the basic order of operations went like this: make a Tardis, make another Tardis to be sure they’d match, attach the black to one of said Tardises and double crochet row after tedious row of black until the scarf was close to the desired length. Attach the second Tardis and add the finishing details.

image

I couldn’t find the cool color speckled yarn that Gamer Girl used so I stitched something resembling stars above each Tardis with a sparkly thin yarn.
I also wove some dark grey lines just inside the boxes on the Tardis that wouldn’t get other details.

image

Then I made signs on some off white fabric pieces. One Tardis was normal and the other became the Bad Wolf Tardis from the end of the Doctor’s ninth incarnation.

image

The finished scarf.

There is one inaccuracy to my Tardis scarf. I didn’t make the windows white.

image

Just a random tenth Doctor & Tardis picture for your viewing pleasure.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

7 thoughts on “Through Time and Space

  1. Vince says:

    Ha, now that’s an awesome scarf.

    Like

  2. elbrookman says:

    Nights….. I know you will find this comment “through time and space”…. I wanted to say thank you and if you think about it as you knit or run, I appreciate you reading me….Just don’t knit and run at the same time !

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thanks for the comment. I quite enjoy your writing voice & style in both your fiction and your commentary on certain other blogs. Everyone can use a little snark and cynicism now & then.
      Definitely no multi-tasking while I run (except maybe thinking).
      But I crochet, not knit. One hook as opposed to two needles.

      Like

      • elbrookman says:

        amazing dishonest reaction from him….I will not do it again……I am very suspicious of him as an individual ….his point of view is not honest….don’t find his writing honest or enjoyable….I tried to tell him his wife is more likely a better writer ….the way people comment to him is very odd…..almost cultish to be so sympathetic …..anyway….I knew it was crochet but knit was an easier word to spell at the time….lol……I am a real person ….I am on facebook and you are welcome to friend me…..Paul Brookman…you can click the link at the end of my home page on my blog….. I can tell you are nice….and believe me, plenty of people find me a nice man, humorous, and not gruff or cynical….a little snarky yes !.

        Like

      • nights7 says:

        I don’t think nice & cynical are exclusive traits. I find you humorous & your writing intelligent. Maybe I will look you up on Facebook. My name is Grace, by the way.
        I was a little perturbed by his reaction to mild criticism. It seems that his writing has lost some of its realness which is too bad as it was appealing. I’m on the opposite side of a somewhat similar situation & I sometimes wonder if my ex-husband sounds like that. He was certainly good at gaining sympathy by making me out to be terrible to the very core of my being…okay maybe that’s a little dramatic, but maybe not.
        Lastly, I was a bit surprised that you initially said knit instead of crochet but I guess I’ll forgive you. 😉

        Like

  3. […] you might remember the Halloween costumes, the Dalek cupcakes, the incident with Scott Ian, the Tardis scarf, the bowties and seeing John Barrowman at […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

