Hulk Smash!

About this time last year my life was thrown into upheaval. Okay maybe at that point life was already in a tailspin of upheaval, a three year (maybe longer) downward spiral of sheer chaos and overt uncertainty complete with black smoke and projectile debris spewing forth.
Yeah, that sounds about right.
But in early June last year the regular chaos and upheaval of my transitory life took a turn and increased in intensity.
I had filed for divorce at the beginning of March after a few months of getting paperwork figured out and completed. At that point I was doing everything “in Pro Per” or on my own, without a lawyer. I thought that would keep things simple, I thought it would be the cheaper and better way to go.
I thought wrong.
That was one of the biggest mistakes I’ve made in my adult life.
DIY divorce, NOT a good idea! Sure it might have saved me the money but the price I paid was not worth a few (thousand) dollars. And let me tell you, a few thousand dollars ,while not that significant to everyone, is quite a lot to me.
So it took me months to get my paperwork together and filed, then when I finally did nothing happened. Nothing. I called the county clerk’s office a couple times and got no answers. They tell you they can’t give legal advice and technically they can’t but any advice they do give you is probably be wrong. And then it will come back and bite you in the ass later. The lesson I learned from this is any time someone tells you to do something get their name, write it down, file it somewhere safe. You’ll need it later.
For example, when you’re asked “Why did you put these numbers on the child support formula?” you can respond with “Because so-and-so at the County Clerks office told me I had to put numbers in before I filed a motion for child support.” FYI-you don’t have to fill in the numbers. There’s a whole complex formula used for that. But when you don’t have the name of the clerk who wouldn’t let you file the paperwork without filling in the numbers there’s not much you can do to correct this error.
Anyhow, this was not the rant I was aiming for tonight.

A year ago things finally began to happen in my divorce case and my life went from regular chaos into super stressful battle mode chaos. And then it stayed there…for about eight months at which point the divorce proceedings abruptly ended. The end was not what I wanted, I did not get what I was fighting for. I know I’ve mentioned that before.
I was left with a structure to my life that I hadn’t anticipated and wasn’t prepared for.
It sucked. It still sucks.(I really need to find a better adjective but sucks and sucking really are apt.)
But at some point sucking just becomes the status quo of day to day life and maybe you stop being so acutely aware of how much it sucks and life just goes on in its normal, suckish way.
And then what?
The past three years of my life have passed in a state of basic survival mode with a just do what you have to to get through this and survive attitude. Even though things didn’t go as I had planned and hoped and I have to adjust and deal with the loss of the life I thought I would have, I did survive.
So now what?
I know I have to adjust my expectations.
I’m taking steps to move forward. I’m accomplishing some goals that have sat idle for a long time. I’m even starting to have some fun again and really enjoy life. I’m getting back to the easy going, weird but usually funny person I was. I liked that person, I’m happy to see glimpses of her again.
But, still, underneath all that I am angry. Very, very angry. Like Hulk-Smash angry.

Yeah like that.
I hide it well, at least I really try to, but scratch the surface and there it is. A slow simmering anger that might even border on rage sometimes because of it’s constancy and futility. I’m not really sure what to do with it or how to get away from it. I want to be done with it, to “learn to accept the things I cannot change” or whatever.
I don’t want to be that person at Easter dinner who just can’t stop the bitter quips. That’s not cool.
But how do you stop it?
I run a lot or at least as much as my schedule and sleep deprivation will allow. I’ve been thinking about getting a punching bag. That kind of thing helps me cope with the anger but how does one make it go away?
I’m a fixer; I like to solve problems even challenging ones, heck, especially challenging ones. I don’t like problems with no solutions, I don’t like the kind that you just have to wait out. But that seems to be what this is, another one of life’s waiting games.
Maybe I should channel the Hulk (or Bruce Banner); he should replace Batman as my super hero favorite for a while.
At least Bruce Banner seems to have figured out the secret to dealing with the anger and using it constructively (in a really destructive way).

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

9 thoughts on “Hulk Smash!

  1. I’m queen of the bitter quip – they come out before I can stop them and I always regret what I’ve said. They tend to be either to the wrong person or in a really sad, petty way. Become the hulk would be a much better way to unleash my wrath. Let’s put our heads together to figure out how to, erm, hulkify.x

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Of course it’s always the wrong time, the wrong person, or both. There has to be a better way.
      Maybe having something pithy & witty to say right after a bitter remark slips out would lessen the impact of it.

      Like

  2. Huh. I though *I* was the queen of the bitter quip! I can walk into a room full of cheerful people and kill it in half a sentence. It’s not a great skill :-/
    I spoke to someone ages ago who’d had therapy for post traumatic distress. He said they basically make you talk about what happened over an over so that gradually you commit it to memory. The problem with that kind of stress is that your brain doesn’t get it’s over, you relive it every day and the stress never ends. By talking about it like that you move it to another bit of your brain, and you slowly start to realise it’s over. Which seemed to make sense to me.
    Find someone to talk to , or to vent at. You’ve had a rough time., it’s natural that you would feel angry and it’s also ok to ask for help when you need it.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      For a while it felt like all I talked about was my frustrations with the courts & the divorce process and the shitty games my ex-husband plays. I felt like a broken record. It did help though I’m sure my sister & couple close friends got (and get) sick of hearing me rant & rave all the time.
      The problem is that it doesn’t end. Sure we’re done with the courts (for now) and the divorce is finalized but I still have to deal with him and he keeps things in a state of frustration. The wound is trying to heal but he keeps ripping it back open again and again.
      I’m working on establishing a new dynamic. That helps. Talking about it (even when I’m tired of the same words coming out of my mouth) helps. Writing about it & getting new feedback definitely helps. Eventually I’ll have it under control… I think.

      Like

  3. Ps: have you ever done boxing training? Could you get to a class? I did it for a bit and I loved it 😀

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Funny you should ask this, I’ve been thinking about getting a punching bag & just looked up a boxing gym with drop in classes. Running is great but hitting things sounds even better right about now.
      Thanks for the suggestions. 🙂

      Like

      • Go to the gym – or at least do that first. It’s really hard work, and it’ll help you get fit for running too. Also, there’s different types of punch bags and pads, so you’ll find out what you like. More than that though, excercising with other people can be therapeutic too.

        Like

      • nights7 says:

        I’m hoping to get to that gym this week or next. It’ll fit into my alleged half marathon training schedule (which I haven’t really started yet) since I’m supposed to do cross training once or twice a week.

        Like

  4. […] been a while since I’ve been Hulk Smash Angry…but I think tonight’s the night. I was attempting to finish another post that I started […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

