Time to Kick it Into Gear

Mention has been made on this here blog, maybe even more than once, about running a half marathon this year. Well, said half marathon is now just over a month away; this just occurred to me the other day which was followed by an “Oh shit!”. And then: It’s time to kick this training thing (if you can call it that, really I just run…and then sometimes I run longer) into gear.
Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been running regularly but my long runs had fallen by the wayside lately. It’s September,kids going back to school (and me too this year) make it a busy time especially since my oldest runs high school cross country.
Not having two hours or more for one run is perfectly reasonable…but no more excuses.
It’s got to happen.
I’ve got this shiny new part time work/full time school schedule and Wednesdays are an unscheduled day now so I decided Wednesday would be long run day. Last week on Wednesday I ran six miles. I don’t think I can really count this as a long run anymore. However I did run with my twenty year old sister (not the one who used to run with me…I’ve got a few younger sisters). She’s all young and full of energy so she really pushed my pace. I’m pretty sure that was the fastest six miles I’ve run maybe ever. Luckily we ran in the evening so it wasn’t too hot otherwise I may not have been able to keep up with her. Lame!
Because, as I mentioned above, I have been slacking on the long runs and six miles isn’t really that long for me anymore I decided it would be a good idea to squeeze in another, more authentic, long run last week. Friday I went for an 8.5 mile run at a near by Metropark.
It was a nice idea but a terrible reality.
Friday turned out to be hot and humid. I went out at nine a.m. and it was already approaching eighty degrees. And this is not the “dry heat” you hear people talk about that’s “really not bad”.
Oh no no. There was humidity to boot.
Let me pause here to say that I understand Michigan’s humid late summer days have nothing on Georgia’s or other places like that…but that’s why I don’t live in the South.
Sure it could’ve been worse (can’t it always?) but it was majorly unpleasant.
Not only was this an LSD (long slow distance) it was a miserable time. I had trouble breathing, my muscles felt like lead, and I was just tired and dragging ass the whole long way. It was not a good time. There was much walking. But I did do the whole (hilly) 8.5 mile loop.
Tomorrow ( Long Run Wednesday is back around again for the first time) I plan to run 9 miles. Even though that’s only half a mile more it seems like a lot farther than I’ve ever run before.
Anything worth doing is hard, running is no exception.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

4 thoughts on “Time to Kick it Into Gear

  1. piratebobcat says:

    You’re finding out that a race is really about the training leading up to it. Keep at it! I know how hard it can be when life gets in the way.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thanks. I’m on track to hit at least a twelve mile run before the race with a built in extra week just in case. This being my first half I have no time expectations yet; just finish…and do my best.

      Like

  2. Sounds like you’re well on track! I’m really impressed. Travelling for work has really messed up my training and I’ve fallen horribly by the wayside. You have to keep going now for both of us! I was due to run a 10 mile race in October but just don’t think I’ll make it now.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thanks. I’ll think of you when I run my half marathon next month. I’ll have at least two hours of thinking time so it shouldn’t be too difficult to add you to the rotation. 🙂
      If my work schedule hadn’t just changed I don’t think I would’ve been able to manage anything above a 10K.

      Like

Leave a Reply

