Accidental Cosplay Cowl

I had one skein of this Bernat Mega Bulky yarn that one of my sisters gave me for my birthday and was trying to find something to do with it. Ideally it would be a project that only used this one skein which should not have been too hard considering this stuff is HUGE. It is the biggest soft yarn I think I’ve ever seen. It really is soft too.
image

I haven’t done much with bulky, let alone mega bulky, yarn so it’s difficult for me to gauge how much yarn a project might need. Yes, I know, there are usually guidelines for this mentioned in most patterns. Isn’t that kind of like cheating though? I mean, it’s just too obvious and simple.

The picture on the label of the yarn showed a small cowl and said that project only requires one skein of this gianormous stuff so I figured a cowl might be a good way to go. Off I went to the wonderland that is Ravelry to peruse whatever patterns the search terms “bulky yarn” and “cowl” brought up. As always there were plenty of options. I wanted something that had some holiness to it and didn’t cling too close to the neck. I get extremely uncomfortable when things feel like they’re pressing on my neck.

This “Antique Grey Loop Scarf” seemed like a good choice so I downloaded, printed, and started giant crocheting. A short while later (and after some adjustments to account for the hugeness of the yarn) I had an almost cowl.
image

I could’ve kept it like that. It wasn’t terrible but the solid rows along the bottom were missing and it was just a tad too short to lay right. Luckily I have a yarn stash (Does any knitter or crocheter not?). I pulled out this soft, charcoal grey stuff left over from a scarf last winter and added the solid rows around the bottom…plus a row of single crochet at the top for balance.
image

As I was finishing the bottom row of single crochet (by then I had deviated from the pattern a bit) I realized this cowl had a familiar look to it.

Exterminate!

        Exterminate!

You know you’ve achieved a special level of nerdiness  awesome when you unintentionally make cosplay pieces. It does lose some of it’s essence of Dalek when it’s being worn but I still know it’s there and it makes this quick little project all the more fun because of it.
image

image

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

5 thoughts on “Accidental Cosplay Cowl

  1. Ha! That’s hilarious! Also, that yarn is HUGE. In the top photos it just looks like double knit. With you in the shot it suddenly turns into the biggest yarn ever. Looks lovely and soft though.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      I think the label said there was less than 70 yards in the skein but the stuff is so fat that that still ends up being a lot. It was pretty fun to work with. The yarn being so gigantic made the project work up quickly.

      Like

  2. Looks very snuggly and warm, perfect for the onset of the cooler weather. I really like the darker trim on the base.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Yes, now if it would just start cooling down around here.
      I went back & forth on whether or not to add the darker stuff or leave it. I thought two colors might look weird. I’m happy to be wrong about that.

      Like

  3. A Dalek cowl. That’s just so cool!! Even having lost a bit of its Dalekiness (if there is such a word!) It’s rather funky!

    Like

Leave a Reply

