Nursing School Mantras

As mentioned, I’m in nursing school. After half a semester it’s changed my life philosophies. Not that I really had strong mantras in place before nursing school…but now I find them useful. I’m busy, full-time job, full-time school and couple hour a week part-time job. I use planners. Yes, there is an ‘s’ there. I have my basic schedule blocked out on my phone so I know where I’m supposed to be when. I also have a paper planner in which I list out details of what’s due when in school and when I have to accomplish said tasks. As well as a large white board in my office where items that need to happen for the week or bits that I shouldn’t forget get jotted down. It’s not a perfect system but it gets the job done. With everything plotted out I take it one day at a time. Last week was particularly busy with several assignments due. On Monday I was sitting next to a classmate who started listing out everything that was happening. I told him to stuff a sock in it (more politely than that) and damn near quoted Scarlett O’Hara.

Yes, I'll think about that tomorrow

Yes, I’ll think about that tomorrow

Channeling Ms. O’Hara is working for me. I just focus on the day and try not to think ahead too much unless it’s to plan my time. Besides, at the moment, I can’t think of a better role model. Lol. Of course, even the best laid plans don’t always work out. And when that happens I use my other mantra:

So much better than Elsa!

One thought on “Nursing School Mantras

  1. […] Just like that I went back to being FINE again. I had to remind myself on the way home to make like Elsa and let it go. A friend reminded me that we all have to bomb a few tests, it’s gonna happen. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

