Dalek Mitts

image

I was standing at checkout in the fabric store totally geeking out with the cashier over the new Doctor Who and Harry Potter fabrics (that I was buying), when the young employee asked if she had just heard the oh so familiar whooshing of the TARDIS. “Umm, yes, yes you did. It’s my text tone.” I replied with a sheepish grin. I think it kind of made her day but as I was leaving the store I began to wonder if my nerdy fandom tendencies were getting a little out of control…
As if! Is that even possible??? (Do not answer that!)
With the super hyped release of The Force Awakens being a nerd is totally cool now. To revel in said new found nerdy coolness in style and warmth I made fingerless mitts.

Dalek fingerless mitts.

image

An added bonus to these bad boys is that they still look have visual appeal even if you have no idea what a dalek is. But, hey, ten points to Gryffindor if you do.

image
This pattern has been sitting in my favorites folder on Ravelry for some time just waiting for me to get the chance to crochet again. The only beef I had with it was the color changes at the top, they were a little vague in the write up but the pictures helped. Oh, and, I added another row of HDC around in grey before the black row that starts the dalek top. I’m giving these to one of my teenage sons and thought they could be just a tad longer. Overall this was a relatively quick, fun little project.

Now to go attempt finish some of the other “Christmas” projects I’ve got going on. I’m looking at you, Sherlock scarf.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

2 thoughts on “Dalek Mitts

  1. Awesome! I love Dr. Who!?

    Like

Leave a Reply

