The Things we Keep and the Things we Carry

It’s hot and muggy, we don’t have central air and there aren’t enough fans in this giant old house with it’s high ceilings and plaster walls. The stagnant heat makes us all a little cranky, that and everyone having consecutive days of various friends sleeping over. Everyone except me. I don’t get any friend sleepovers. (Sigh) The house is a mess, the kind of wild, uncontrollable mess that comes from six people being home all day. The piles are every where pressing in on me, mimicking the heat in their attempts to smother me.  Papers, laundry, shoes, dirty dishes, the debris of daily life in its natural state. Entropy in action. It’s surrounding me.

In the one small window of my dark bedroom there’s an air conditioner humming, the door stays shut to trap in the precious cooler air. It gives a momentary reprieve from the heat if not the mess. Here, too, the piles haunt me. Predominantly laundry that I haven’t found the time or space to put in its proper place. I’ve been lead to believe neither the “clean” basket nor the end of my bed is considered the proper spot, though my patterns of behavior especially of late beg to differ. Normally it doesn’t bother me but the heat and crabbiness of the day make me want this laundry to be somewhere other than the floor and furniture. In fact, I want all the mess to be somewhere else. I want it all gone. There’s just so much stuff. Why is there so much stuff?

A couple months ago I cleaned out part of my basement in the process of creating a work out area. My kids and I have been in this house for almost four years now, double the longest time we’ve lived anywhere else. As we were sorting through the stuff that had collected in the basement a theme emerged. Boxes. For some reason there were a lot of empty boxes in my basement, specifically the boxes that stuff came in. Packaging. There was so much empty packaging that I had held onto for some reason or another. There was a box from one of my daughter’s nicer dolls that was a birthday present when she was seven or eight, the packaging of a remote control helicopter I bought off Groupon three Christmases ago, even the box from my vacuum cleaner…and a few more. I have no idea why I kept them but there were So Many Empty Boxes. Occupying space with no known purpose.

I didn’t realize I was a collector of boxes until I saw it all compiled, it got me thinking: Why? Why did I keep all that empty packaging? Why bother storing it for years and years? Seriously, you could compose the history of my purchases with all the boxes thrown haphazardly in the corner of my dark, dank basement. It’s like I was never quite convinced that I wouldn’t be moving again soon. I might need to pack up all that stuff and transport it in a year or two like I had before. Or maybe I thought I’d be desperate at some point in the near future and have to sell stuff on Ebay, just to get by. I’ve done it before. Things are more valuable with their original packaging.

It wasn’t just the boxes that I was storing without awareness.

In the back of my closet there’s a dress. It’s a shorter black shirt style dress with bold, angry plaid trim and shiny metal loops and buckles reminiscent of punk rock fashions. Years ago I had a skirt that was similar, I’d wear it with a cut up t-shirt, ripped black tights, and my Doc Martens. But this dress, I’ve never even worn it. My former sister-in-law bought it for me at the salvation army maybe six or seven years ago. We used to be good friends and when she saw it she thought of me. Shortly after that the shit hit the fan and divorce ensued. We haven’t spoken in years, my once sister-in-law and I. I tried to reconnect with her after the dust settled but I guess blood really is thicker than water and she wanted nothing to do with rekindling our friendship. I still have the dress though. It’s survived many purges. I just can’t seem to let it go. I’m thirty-six now, it would be a little ridiculous for me to wear it but there it hangs in my closet.

There are other things too. Torn t-shirts and jeans with worn out knees that I meant to make into something useful and fun, a grocery bag of washed out tin cans that were supposed to become C3PO, my dad’s cross country jersey from college, a watercolor of me on my wedding day that was a gift from my ex husband on our first anniversary.

It always made me uncomfortable, this painting of me standing there in my elaborate wedding gown and fancy hair, but I still have it more than two years after the divorce. Partially because I’m not sure what to do with it, throwing it away doesn’t seem right. Partially because I forget it’s there (out of sight, out of mind) until I stumble upon it again while searching for something else. Then all those  feelings come back, the awkwardness and discomfort I felt when it was given to me, not knowing how or whether I should let on that I didn’t love this painting of myself for fear it would be perceived as personal rejection and scorn by my brand new husband. Even in the early years of marriage I knew I had to tiptoe around his unpredictable feelings. I knew that having a reaction that was less than he expected would be construed as total rejection of him as a person; I couldn’t not love the gift and still love him, not in his mind. So I danced around what his reaction to my reaction was going to be and adapted as I saw fit. That tailoring and filtering, the inability to be authentic, I’ve tried to get rid of it, to throw it out, but remnants of it hang on. Scraps of it are woven into the fabric of my being, something I keep and carry whether I like it or not. And I don’t. It’s there though, as real as the mess in my sweltering home. It’s just one of the things that holds on, gathering dust in the corners until it finds an opportunity to remind me of its presence. There are things I carry, without even realizing, that do not have a place in my newer life, the one where I don’t dance unless I want to. The one where I’m the king of my own castle, albeit a mess of a castle. But I can’t seem to let them go. I have trouble discerning between the things I should keep, the useful stuff, and the things I carry. The stuff that weighs me down, the stuff that should have been let go of long ago.

 

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

9 thoughts on “The Things we Keep and the Things we Carry

  1. Masqued says:

    My marriage was rough, even at the beginning, but it took about 6 years for it to be somewhat terrible. But oh, boy, can I relate to that dancing around everything. The occasional lackluster gifts that showed my ex didn’t understand me at all, or that the gifts were more about him than me. And yes – he felt personally rejected if I wasn’t over the moon about my gifts.

    Lovely written post, thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      I think most marriages are a bit rough the first year and it’s something we’re caught off guard by because no one tells you it’s going to be hard right away, but sometimes it’s different and not in a good way. When you suddenly or slowly realize early on that things aren’t quite right and it only gets worse from there.
      I can’t say I’m glad you get it appreciate your understanding and your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Masqued says:

        I always expected marriage to be hard, so I probably accepted too much just because ‘that’s how it is supposed to be’, without questioning it when it veered into that ‘not a good way’ difference.

        But yes – never a pleasure to know someone is a part of our select club. But it is a comfort to know we aren’t alone on the journey and that other folks ‘get it’.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. sara says:

    This is really beautifully written 🙂
    And I can completely relate to so many emotions and musings in it – both current state and the ambivalence about symbols of a past state.
    Very well said.

    Like

  3. A really poignant post and thank you so much for sharing such intimate thoughts and feelings. Perhaps you will let things go a little at a time when you are ready. You have been through such a lot and emotions take time to reconcile themselves, finding a new you. Don’t beat yourself up about any of it just take it a day at a time.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thank you. I am not the best at being emotionally self-aware so sometimes it takes me longer to process things. And there really have been a lot of things. Even though it’s not always pleasant, there is value in the process. We’d lose so much valuable insight and wisdom if we skipped right to the end result. So, yup, one day at a time.

      Like

  4. Sarah says:

    I remember that painting and how awkward you felt about it. In fact, it recently, briefly, crossed my mind. What do you do with something so monumental? Maybe use it as a physical reminder until you get your stagnant feet more comfortably settled into a good position? There’s something awesome about a superhero pose.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      You remember that? huh.
      Right now it’s leaning up against the back wall of my closet but I’m thinking about taking it out of the frame and storing it in a tube in my basement. I could put it in that creepy dirt room for someone to find in another hundred years. It would probably be all moldy and decomposing…that would be quite a metaphor.

      Like

Leave a Reply

