A Return to the Fandom Blanket

While there hasn’t been much evidence of making stuff (with yarn or fabric) around here, I have been very slowly working on what I’m calling the Fandom blanket that I started last year. It’s for my daughter and eventually it will be a Christmas or birthday gift…however at this rate it may well be her 18th birthday present. That would simultaneously be the furthest ahead I have EVER planned and the slowest rate of progress on any project, possibly in the modern history of project-making.  It’s already been over a year since I thought of and actually started working on the Great Fandom Blanket.

It was inspired by the baby blanket I made for a friend. Maybe you remember it…

wpid-wp-1442283570488.jpeg

Or the MockingJay square from last year…

Or maybe the Harry Potter stripes

house colors

And the striped granny squares…

basic squares 2

Since then there has been Sherlock’s Door, the Brit-o-phile square, and a TARDIS that’s still in progress…

british love.jpg

And lastly, well, most recently, I finished Platform 9 3/4 and Nightvale…

nightvale-hp-sw

I’m pretty geeked about how these ones turned out,

…especially the Nightvale square. I is a wee bit larger than the others but I’ll work it in somehow. I’ve still got to figure out a Hamilton themed square, maybe that’ll need to be bigger too. My girl loves her Hamilton like only a 13 year-old fangirl can.

o-ham

As you can see, I’ve actually made quite a bit of progress on the themed squares of this blanket. I don’t really have an overall plan (big surprise there right?) for this blanket other than Make It. Secretly I want to finish the blanket by Christmas. Yes, the one  in 2016 but that may or may not happen. Either way I’ll keep you updated on its progress. Don’t hold your breath though, it’s going to take some time.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

5 thoughts on “A Return to the Fandom Blanket

  1. sara says:

    This is unbelievably awesome! Can’t believe the Nightvale patch!!

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thanks. I REALLY hope I can get it done by this Christmas because my daughter is going to absolutely love it. Heck, I’m kind of in love with this thing myself. 🙂

      Like

  2. candidkay says:

    I am so thumby with things like this–in awe of your ability to craft things like this.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      Thanks. For me it’s a great way to decompress after a long day and to avoid the stress in my life but I’m also hoping it helps get me into dental school as it demonstrates manual dexterity and all that.

      Like

  3. […] I’ve shared some of the squares as I made them. (Like this and this.), there are a couple that I’m especially proud of that I haven’t […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

