Just for Fun! 

The past few months I’ve been running without a specific goal (other than my general thousand mile goal). It’s been surprisingly freeing. Equally surprising is that I’ve actually been running more without following a plan that’s building up to a race. Okay maybe not more miles total but more regularly. Like five to six days a week frequently.

And it’s been fun! Not being so end-goal focused has allowed me to rediscover a real love for running.

In the spirit of said fun, I ended up doing two 5k’s in the past two weeks. I know that’s not a real feat of any sort but, again, both races were super fun. It helped that one was a glow and the other beer themed.

Finishers beers all in a row; what a beautiful site.

On Friday a friend and I did the Hightail to Ale 5k in Detroit. It was cold. It was rainy. But it was also very fun.

The run was sponsored by Atwater brewery and the course was a flat out and back type loop near the Detroit riverfront. It was a pretty big run and the start was staggered in waves; standing in the dreary drizzle waiting to run wasn’t the best but once we were running the weather wasn’t a big deal. And after the race there was beer for everyone! Well, everyone over 21 I suppose. When registering for the race there was the option to purchase a meal ticket to use at your choice of the food trucks in the post race celebration area. We did not do this but the food smelled amazing! If it had been dry or warmer we would have perused the food truck offerings. Atwater had their tap room open and a band playing so instead we crowded in with the other wet runners to finish our beers and enjoy the music. 

Despite the chill and rain (it was around 40 degrees Fahrenheit) the atmosphere was light and festive. The race swag was pretty decent too. The shirts are soft & fitted with good quality and colors and there were pint glasses and medals.

Maybe next year it’ll be more like a typical May day on Cinco do Mayo. I’m certainly hoping so because I’d love to do this race again.

Last week’s fun 5k was a small, local glow run. Another family from my cross country team (the one I coach & a couple of my kids run on) were doing this so three of my boys and I joined them. Along with the perk of being local, this race was cheap and in the evening.  It was a win win win.

Excuse my tired face, I worked the nights before.

 

There was no kid’s race but my little guy wanted to run. I had signed him up for the 5k but was slightly concerned that he’d be scared or overwhelmed but he did great. He hung with me and a high schooler for the first mile and wasn’t far behind us for the second. The kid finished the race with a time of 33:33, just under a minute after his brother.

Doing races with my kids is The Best!

This time last year I was gearing up to run the Cleveland Half marathon with loose plans to do another half in the fall. And while I’m toying with the idea of signing up for the Detroit half again  (I’ll decide for sure before the price goes up again at the end of this month.), right now I’m just enjoying running for the sake and love of running.

About nights7

A metamorphosis in progress...always.

4 thoughts on “Just for Fun! 

  1. This is great! It’s good to run for the hell of it sometimes. Also, your kids are fast! Clearly take after you 😊. And I love the fact you have a beer run! Amazing.

    Like

    • nights7 says:

      It really is. I’ve got a couple more casual races coming up including an obstacle course race. I’m both excited and nervous for it.
      My kids are fast, especially my oldest. Sadly, though, he’s 17 and doesn’t much like trying at anything. Hopefully that’ll pass soon. :/

      Like

  2. Wow, this really hit home with me!! I let training get too serious and forget how fun running can be! Thank you for sharing, and awesome that your little guy WANTED to run! Kuddos!

    Like

  3. Sandra S. says:

    I love trail running because it takes me away from a mileage-focused goal, and I feel like I just become part of the landscape. There is nothing better than when my daughter joins me! She’s been running with me since age 6 and now she is a freshman, and running cross country plus track (she is #25 freshman in the 880m in all of California!). I am so glad she had a love of running early, as I did – your sons are lucky to have you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

